HANDMADE SCARVES, BABY BLANKETS, JEWELRY & MORE

A Miniature Flowery Sun Hat

I recently tried out a new teddy bear pattern (Trixee by Stefanie Devlin) and while I liked the hat that she made for her bear all right, I decided that I wanted one that looked more like a gardening hat because the bear was stitched with a variegated pink and green yarn called Rose Garden.  I wanted a floppy looking brim, but didn’t want it to look like a sombrero…  I looked around for straw hat patterns and even for pre-made hats, but I just couldn’t find anything that suited me. 

So I improvised.

Using #20 (about 2mm) natural colored hemp cord and a 3.75mm or F crochet hook, begin by making an adjustable base ring or a magic loop.  See a great tutorial by Stitch Diva Studios here.  Work all stitches from row 2 to finish in back loops only.

Row 1: 6 sc into adj. base ring.  Mark first stitch of each round as you work with a stitch marker and do not join rounds.

Row 2: 2 sc in each stitch around (12 sc).

Row 3: (sc in next st, 2 sc in next) around (18 sc).

Row 4: (sc in next 2 st, 2 sc in next) around (24 sc).

Row 5: (sc in next 3 st, 2 sc in next) around (30 sc).

Rows 6-9: sc in ea st around (30 sc).

Row 10: (sc in next st, 2 sc in next) around (45 sc).

Row 11: (sc in next 2 st, 2 sc in next) around (60 sc).

Row 12: (sc in next 3 st, 2 sc in next) around (75 sc).

Row 13: (sl st in next, ch 1) around and tie off.

Note: if you would prefer a brim that lies flat rather than ruffling, work rounds 10-12 by continuing to make increases in multiples of six rather than 15 (i.e. row 10 would have  a total of 36 sc by increasing every fifth stitch).

Accents include 1/8″ or 3mm light green ribbon, which I simply wrapped around the hat and threaded through the unworked front loop of a single crochet stitch.  Tie a knot or a bow to secure.  The flowers were attached with an additional length of ribbon, simply threading it through the loop of the ribbon leaves on the bottom of the flower where it is sewn on, running the ribbon back through the same space it was pulled through to the front of the hat to attach the flower.  I used seven flowers, clustering them over the knot where the ribbon band is secured, and pulled the two ends of the ribbon used to sew on the flowers through the same loops I threaded the original band ends through, trimming them to whatever length is desired.  Be sure to seal the ends of the ribbon to keep them from fraying, also.

If I had the patience, I would work up a full-sized version for my Granny because I know she’d love it and I think hemp would be a great material for an actual sun hat.  Perhaps I’ll add it to my to-do list…

*This pattern has not been tested for accuracy.

02/22/2012: You can now download this pattern as a pdf!

2 responses

  1. Is there a finished size for this hat?

    1 October 2013 at 4:56 am

    • Hi, Juliana! Sorry, I’ve been neglecting the blog this year. My computer quit on me. :( The hat I made here came in at just under 5″ including the brim.

      31 December 2013 at 7:26 am

Leave a Reply

