HANDMADE SCARVES, BABY BLANKETS, JEWELRY & MORE

Bird Rattles in my Studio!

REDBIRD RATTLE

I am absolutely thrilled to announce that I am now able to list amigurumi bird rattles for sale in my online studio!  Last week the designer, Tara Murray, who writes wonderful crochet patterns, decided to allow online sales of the finished pieces from any of her patterns, which truly is amazingly generous.  I highly recommend her patterns to anyone looking for baby designs, so if you’re a crocheter, too, get on over to her Etsy shop and check it out!

I was so excited about getting to list the rattles that I wanted to run out and take pictures of the few I have on hand right away, but of course it snowed that very night, so I decided to wait until it dried out a little.  I didn’t want to go out for a photo shoot and have the trees all wet or end up dropping one of the little boogers in the mud!  So I patiently waited a couple days for the snow to melt and the sun to come back out.  Unfortunately, the snow caused almost all the leaves to fall off the two trees in my yard, which was where I wanted to take most of the pictures, but some of the bushes were hanging on, so I improvised a little with the fallen leaves and made use of the bushes as best I could – the branches are a little smaller, so it’s tough to make the birds hang onto them!

SUNSHINE YELLOWBIRD

LIMELIGHT BIRD RATTLE

After playing in the trees in the front yard, I trotted around to the backyard to see what I could find to make use of back there.  Somehow, (and this really blows my mind because I have a brown thumb!) the snapdragons that have taken up residence in the rocks survived the snowfall – I think they must thrive on neglect.  I really wanted to try to use them in some pictures, but they couldn’t hold the birds up at all. So I wasn’t able to incorporate the flowers near as much as I wanted to, but I got a few with them.

Earlier this year, some robins had a nest in my neighbor’s tree just across our fence.  I’d see them hopping around every once in a while and of course I enjoyed listening to them sing, but one day one of their little ones ended up in our yard.  Naturally, it was Baxter, our beagle, who found the poor thing, but at worst I think she probably just terrified it with her howling.  For the next few days it was like an Easter egg hunt every time Baxter needed to go outside.  I didn’t want her trampling it, so I’d put her leash on and we’d go creeping carefully around the yard to find the bird because it never stayed in the same spot for more than half a day.  I knew it would be able to fly soon because it was almost grown and its parents were absolutely relentless!  They would hop up and down the fence posts, screaming at Baxter anytime she was outside even if she wasn’t near the fledgling.  I even got a little worried about the dog because they started dive bombing her!  But it was only a couple days before I couldn’t find the little robin any more and I’ve barely seen any birds since.  I have to say that I miss having birds around, even if they have a tendency to sit on the fence and tease the dog. 

Getting pictures of the bluebird rattle on the fence was almost as tough as getting good shots of the green bird because it was really sunny out, but it was a good thing I got out there when I did because it snowed again the very next day!  Just another dusting, really, but it meant pretty much the rest of the leaves off the trees and of course it’s been cold and windy, too.  The snapdragons, though?  Still hanging tough.  And now I get to sit inside with a nice cup of tea by the fireplace while I sort through the pictures I took when it was sunny and 60.

BLUEBIRD RATTLE

As I get them listed, I’ll attach links to the pictures so that you can just click on the picture to be taken to each bird’s webpage where you can see the rest of the photographs and more information.  Also, if you’d like to see some examples of other bird rattles I’ve crocheted, please take a look at the baby rattle album on my facebook page.  Be sure to check out Tara Murray’s pattern shop if you want to try your hand at your own bird rattle, but if you’d prefer to let someone else do the work, I’d love to custom make you one!  They’re really fun to make and children just seem to love them.  It’s been my favorite baby shower gift for about a year now and I don’t see anything replacing it anytime soon!

2 responses

  1. Gayle

    Hi Connie,

    the birds are beautiful. I have just ordered the pattern! Questions – have you ever used a cotton yarn for the rattles and if so, which kind?
    Thanks!

    8 March 2012 at 3:03 pm

    • Thanks, Gayle, and good luck with yours! I haven’t yet used cotton, but I know there are some great cotton yarns out there now – way more to pick from than just the kitchen cottons! I would look for a soft sport or worsted weight yarn, maybe like Knit Picks Simply Cotton? I’ve had my eye on some of that for a while, but I haven’t gotten to try it yet. You might also ask Tara what she’s used in the past; I’m almost certain she’s made some with cotton. Good luck in your search and I hope you find something you love!
      Best,
      CL

      8 March 2012 at 8:50 pm

Leave a Reply

